Pro Football Hall Of Fame Will Ignore Terrell Owens In Induction Ceremony

By John Carlo A. Villaruel
on Jul 13, 2018 09:44 AM EDT
facebook tweet this pin it plus
Sign Up for Sports World News' Newsletter and never miss out on our most popular stories.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame will ignore Terrell Owens in the induction ceremonies of the Class of 2018 next month.

Owens who is considered as one of the best wide receivers in the checkered history of the NFL decided to not attend the ceremonies after the voters were unable to get him in the first two tries. Hall of Fame executive Joe Horrigan said that there is no point on mentioning Owens as an individual on Friday's Gold Jacket dinner and Saturday's ceremony since the focus of the ceremony is on the guys that are present.

"There's no reason to bring him up as an individual. He's not here." Horrigan explained to Talk of Fame Network host Clark Judge. 

Nonetheless, the Hall is expected to mail Owens his gold jacket on Saturday morning. Interestingly, Owens bought himself a custom-made jacket last year.

Owens To Have Own Ceremony

The 44-year-old Owens said that he will be holding his own ceremonies at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga which is his Alma Mater. Owens who was selected as the 89th overall pick by the San Francisco 49ers of the 1996 NFL Draft added that he wants to celebrate the best weekend of his life at the place that means a lot to him.

The induction speech of Owens will take place on Aug. 4 in the McKenzie Arena starting at 3:17 p.m. Owens revealed that his ceremony is free and open to the public.

"After giving it much thought I have realized just how much I want to celebrate what will inevitably be the best weekend of my life at a place that means so much to me," Owens wrote on Twitter.

On the other hand, Yahoo Sports journalist Frank Schwab believes that Owens was made to wait by the Hall citing that the former 49er had Hall of Fame credentials. Schwab added that the action of Hall of Fame to not mention Owens was simply a way of punishing the Alexander City native.

Owens has made it to the Pro Bowl six times and was a five-time All-Pro member. In addition, he has also suited up for 219 games in which he tallied 15934 receiving yards to go along with 153 receiving touchdowns.

Aside from Owens, the Class of 2018 is made up of Randy Moss, Brian Dawkins, Ray Lewis, Brian Urlacher, Robert Brazile, Jerry Kramer, and Bobby Beathard. The Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony will be held in Canton, Ohio and shown on the NFL Network this Aug. 4. 

See Now: Microsoft Surface Pro 5: Intel Kaby Lake, 4K Display, Release Date, Specs & Features

© 2018 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Real Time Analytics